Fashion Show at Lunch

You guys, this weekend was the bomb, and not just because the weather was so gorgeous.  Imagine breezy, humidity-less, 85 degree days and 60 degree nights.  So that fashion blogger I went to see in Harvard Square?  The reason was that there was an Old Navy “pop up shop” there.  If you’re not familiar with the concept, it just means that a shop or restaurant pops up for a few days with only 24 hours notice or so.  After that, it disappears.  So, Old Navy was having this shop to promote their new denim line.  I’m pretty impartial to Old Navy, because I can buy an XXS shirt there and it is still weird and ill-fitting, with like, four-feet-long arms.  BUT my favorite person who I’ve never met, Kendi of Kendi Everyday, was going to be there styling people, so I had to go.  I’ve been reading her blog since its inception many moons ago, so I feel like I know her and she should be my best friend.

Obviously you can’t just do this kind of thing alone, because you need photographers to document the day, and also some sort of life coach to tell you what to say if you happen to meet someone famous, so I commissioned Greg, Peter, and Stacie to venture to Cambridge with me.  It was a bit of a catch-22 because while it was nice to have wingmen, they pretty much made fun of me the entire time.  Luckily I was able to text Zoe to give updates and seek advice because she’s as obsessed as I am.

So anyway, we got there at 11:40 and it wasn’t supposed to start until noon, but I had imagined all these huge crowds just rushing to see Kendi.  In reality, it was the four of us and some random Asian tourists who were intrigued by the prospect of free promotional sunglasses.  So that was perfect because we walked into the shop and an Old Navy employee approached me and explained the concept, to which I was all, “Yeah lady, I know, I’m here to see Kendi.”  And she said just a minute, and before I knew it some other random girl ran up to me and shouted, “YOU’RE GOING TO GET STYLED!” right in my face.  And then Kendi and this other girl proceeded to pick out clothes for me and push me into a dressing room and tell me how great I looked.  And Kendi and I chatted for a bit, which was really awkward because I already knew everything about her life and had to find a way to ask her about it without coming off like a total creep.  But she was so nice and told me I was “cute as pie.”  And then at the end of the makeover session, when I was contemplating how much all these clothes would cost, they said, “You get to keep everything you’re wearing!”  And it was the best.  I might even have to go out and buy some of the red lipstick they put on me.

Later on, when we were walking to Starbucks, I asked Stacie if she thought that people we passed were looking at us and wondering if we were models.  This is totally impossible, because we all know that there’s no such thing as a short model, but I felt like one anyway.  So thanks for the Canadian tuxedo, Old Navy.  I promise never to criticize your strange garment-sizing practices ever again.

One thought on “Fashion Show at Lunch

Leave a Reply

