The Maine Event

Today I drove up to Portland, Maine for a somewhat spur-of-the-moment adventure with my friend Kelsey.  We hadn’t seen each other in 3 years so it was a nice (albeit short) reunion!  The first stop was Sea Dog Brewing Company for lunch.  I have a soft spot in my heart for this brewery, because their blueberry beer was the very last one I had in STL before moving last summer, and because LOOK AT THIS FACE.  So delightful.

Then we went to  the International Cryptozoology Museum and if you don’t know what that means you’re dumb.  Just kidding, I had to Google it.  It’s a “pseudoscience involving the search for animals whose existence has not been proven” (Wikipedia, 2013).  It basically looked like a collection of pictures and toys of Bigfoot and Nessie and the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles that could have been found in someone’s basement, so it was obviously awesome.  A fun fact:  the existence of pandas was once disputed, and the first panda that was brought to America lived with a New Yorker in her apartment.

A short while later, it was time to part ways.  On the way back to Boston, I had a major blonde moment.  Traffic was bumper-to-bumper for the majority of the drive (stupid vacationers!), and at one point I was shooting a quick text.  Don’t worry, Mom, I was at a full stop on the highway when this happened.  I held my phone in front of me kind of resting in the gap under the top of my steering wheel so I could watch the traffic.  And all of a sudden I hear a very long, loud honk.  So I say aloud, “well that was rude.”  And then it happens again.  And I’m all, “LOOK EVERYONE WE ARE SITTING IN A PARKING LOT WHO IS HONKING SO ANGRILY AND WHY? YOU ARE ALL ASSHATS.”  And a few seconds later I look down at my steering wheel and realize that my hands, which I thought were resting so gingerly on the wheel, were actually very aggressively pushing my horn while I texted.  So in short, I was that person.  Sorry, world.

Leave a Reply

